It Was Just One Of Those Things

Frank as Francois watching the opening dance hall performance.
Frank as Francois watching the opening dance hall performance.

First and foremost, I apologize from the depths of my soul for the lapse in writing that has occurred over the past week. I did not even post on Frank Thursday. However, the reasons behind this were completely legitimate. I accepted a challenge to go without Frank in my life for an entire week. A challenge which I accepted and subsequently conquered. It was quite the week in the life of this bobby soxer, I will not lie to you one bit. However, it was actually an experience I’m glad that I got.  It was just one of those things, you know?

But that being the case, I actually wasn’t allowed to post on this blog either. So. there’s that.

However, I am back and so the chronicles of the bobby soxer continue! So, Frank Thursday from nearly two weeks ago.

My roommates and I watched Can Can (1960). I absolutely adore this movie, it is definitely in my top five favorite Frank movies. It5dbd5f9de4bced1ff8cf819e0d460f96 is set in the late 1800’s in France, just before the turn of the century. The can can is actually illegal in France at this time, and Frank’s character Francois is a lawyer who often finds himself in court defending a cafe owner, played by Shirley MacLaine,  because of the frequent and illegal performances of the dance at her place of business. Woven into this romantic comedy are outstanding performances and wonderful musical numbers including a song Frank later recorded, It Was Just One Of Those Things, sang in the movie by Maurice Chevalier.  In the end, commitment problems are settled and the can can may or may not receive a legal place in society.

Watch it, love it! I can guarantee that it’s a gem. Let’s do it. Let’s do it. Let’s fall in love…

As to other goings on in this life of mine, they have been entirely preoccupied with this No Frank Week challenge. It was a little bit harder than I had anticipated merely because I was asked to do it and not because I happened to. However, I did it and it was quite interesting. If you get the chance, you should try going a week without something. Just try it. You’ll be surprised by the results. But when one day your loved one drifts away, oo la la la, it is so tragical!  (But really, go watch Can Can and then these song references will make a world of sense.)

Leave a Reply

