The Very Thought Of You

With finals week looming before me, it is safe to say that a mountain of stressful finals are not the only thing going on. I also must move out of my apartment and away from my wonderful roommates. However, though that makes me very sad, I actually have a somewhat humorous story to tell you this Friday evening.

Today I decided that I was going to begin going through my things to make the super packing I’ll have to do next weekend a little bit easier. With courage I got down on my knees and began taking things out from under my bed, where basically my whole word is stored, and began going through one container. That was when I found one of my board games and the top wasn’t on correctly. Obviously that won’t do, so I lifted it up to see what was going on inside the box in order to rectify the situation.

Frank reading in his library at home. Frank loved to learn new things and was continually reading in order to expand his education.
Frank reading in his library at home. Frank loved to learn new things and was continually reading in order to expand his education.

There I found an entire magazine about Frank’s life that my grandmother gave me at Christmas time. She said something like, “I found this among some of my things and knew there was only one person I could give it to.” Apparently, the board game was the safest place to keep it and then apparently I forgot where I’d put it. Well, of course I just had to quickly peak into the beginning of it…

An hour later, a little stiff and still sitting underneath my bed, I finished reading the entire magazine and realized that I’d gotten a little bit carried away. I promptly put everything back exactly where it had been to begin with, feeling extremely accomplished for some reason. It was only after everything was back in order that I realized I had not, in fact, accomplished anything that I had set out to accomplish. I just felt an immense sense of satisfaction and therefore subconsciously translated that into: Oh, what a productive afternoon!

But by the time I realized that I hadn’t accomplished the initial task, I had no further ambition to go back and accomplish it because, well, I did feel great after all. ¬†Sometimes I just get a little carried away.

Leave a Reply

